ILASA Heritage Banner Image

To celebrate our Heritage at the ILASA Awards of Excellence we are offering a DISCOUNTED registration fee.

ILASA invites you to register at a SPECIAL REGISTRATION fee which is the same as the 2019 REGISTRATION FEES!


Landscape Architecture is more than a profession; it is a basic component of human culture. The ILASA Merit Awards of Excellence aims to exemplify best practice examples that are clear in their intent and relevant to their specific context. We are faced with particular social challenges in a country with extraordinary biodiversity, rich in resources but in need of conserving what we have. Projects should clearly demonstrate how they add value to the landscape, specifically in aspects of social or ecological health and well-being, but preferably encompassing both these aspects.



The aim of the Corobrik-ILASA Awards of Excellence is to acknowledge and promote excellence in landscape architecture. Promotion is achieved through media coverage of the project entries. ILASA further makes use of the project images on our webpage and in promotional brochures to prospective students and our peers in other professions. All material that is submitted will be retained by the Institute as part of its library. 

The projects obtaining Awards of Excellence will be acknowledged by means of the presentation of a certificate as well as media coverage. An Award of Excellence is not given on a competition basis but based on merit; all types of projects from large complete projects to small specialist projects may be entered.



  • All ILASA members may submit/nominate any work executed by any member of the Institute. Work fully completed and sufficiently established to be assessed may be entered for consideration. 
  • The entrant or a representative of the entrant is to be present at the Awards of Excellence function. 
  • Projects up to five (5) years and younger, are eligible for consideration in categories 1, 2A, 2B, 2C and 3.
  • Projects older than ten (10) years are eligible for consideration in category 2D.
  • Projects that were entered into the ILASA Awards of Excellence in a previous year cannot be entered again unless the project was entered as a ‘project proposal’ previously and this time as a ‘completed project’. However, projects previously entered for an award may be entered again in category 2D: Fully completed projects – Projects should they 10 years or older.  
  • Each entrant must submit a motivation for why he/she feels they met the criteria and are worthy of an award. This is to be based on the Evaluation Criteria Calculator that is available with the awards entry form. 



    • 2A: Project proposals 
    • 2B: Fully completed projects – Project value less than R5 million 
    • 2C: Fully completed projects – Project value greater than R5 million
    • 2D: Fully completed projects – Projects older than 10 years




This Award is to be given to projects submitted in any of the above categories. The project must be of a world class standard and portray the value that landscape architects contribute to the built environment.


All projects entered in the 'completed projects categories' will be eligible for this award. The only condition is that the trees used in the project must be container grown trees so each project entry must indicate whether this is the case and whether they want to be eligible for this award. The normal adjudication committee will choose one project from each region after the site visits as the nomination for the region for this award. The final winner will then be chosen by the adjudication committee in consultation with a Just Trees representative.


This Award is to be given to the most outstanding and excellent project/s submitted in any of the above categories.  It must be a unanimous decision by the adjudicators as being eligible for this award. 


The nature of this award is to recognise the contribution made by an individual in terms of the promotion/ development of the profession of landscape architecture in general. It may include activities such as community involvement, developing of a specific aspect etc. Any person that has done outstanding work in the industry may submit or may be nominated for this specific award. 

All awards will be made on distinction. The Awards for Excellence in Landscape Architecture are not made on a competition basis and no prizes are given.



Submissions are to be accompanied by an entry fee:

 Single / First Entry  R1 750
 Second Entry R1 350
 Third And More Entry R1 000
 Student Submission R800

Once your submission has been received you will be invoiced accordingly. Your submission will not be considered until full pre-payment is made before the deadline date.



  • All entries must be sent via a WeTransfer link to 
  • Entry forms should reach ILASA no later than  12 noon on 10 June 2022. 
  • All material for evaluation should be uploaded via WeTransfer by 10 June 2022.
  • An invoice will be sent to you once your entry is received. Proof of payment must be sent before your entry will be included for the judges.
  • Evaluation of projects will commence during June / July after the submissions have been checked for compliance with the various requirements and have been categorised according to the geographical location of each project. 
  • No results will be made known before the formal announcement at the Awards of Excellence Function on the evening of the Awards Gala Event – 22 September 2022 - The Venue will be Kievits Kroon, Pretoria

Available till 21 August 2022. These are the same fees charged for the 2019 Awards 

Single Ticket

ILASA member: R500 | Non-Member: R600

Double Ticket (Delegate + partner/spouse)

ILASA Member: R850 |Non-Member: R1 100


ILASA Member & Non-member: R250

Table (8 per table): R4 000

Includes an exclusive table and 4 bottles of wine

Available to ILASA Member companies only

After 21 August 2022.

Single Ticket

ILASA member: R600 | Non-Member: R700

Double Ticket (Delegate + partner/spouse)

ILASA Member: R980 |Non-Member: R1 300


ILASA Member & Non-member: R300

Table (8 per table): R5 000

Includes an exclusive table and 4 bottles of wine

Available to ILASA Member companies only


  • To get member discount you must use the email address associated with your regular ILASA account.
  • If you use a new email address a new account will be opened for you, unless you ask the secretariat to update your old account details.
  • Member discount is only offered to paid-up members.
  • You and the billing contact of your organisation will receive invoices a few minutes after you have registered.
  • If you see a red notice on the screen about unpaid invoices please contact the secretariat on to resolve.
  • Please cancel your registration in writing to by no later than 7 days before the event. The full registration is payable for members, non-members, speakers and students who do not cancel in time or are a no-show.


Click here for the registration form

Accommodation is available at the beautiful Kievits Kroon Country Estate at a special ILASA rate of:

Single R1740 per room per night (Bed & Breakfast)
Sharing R2180 per room per night (Bed & Breakfast)

For bookings please contact:
Evah Mmatle
012 809 8600
Ref: ILASA Awards